top of page

OLD NEWS (March 2015)

News for March, 2015

"Slavery and Freedom"

On November 24th, 2014, I recieved a congratulatory letter in the mail stating I'd been chosen along with 9 other artists from the Cleveland Jewish Community to participate in the 2015 Jewish Arts & Culture lab themed, "Slavery and Freedom." When I applied, I didn't think my work would interest anyone --- the Jewish Federation of Cleveland is behind this award-winning project, so I was sure the competition would be tough!

The 10 chosen fellows meet for two and a half hours each week with administrators Rabbi Truboff and Sara Hurand, our group's artistic mentor and guide. We discuss those parts of Torah that revolve around this year's theme. There's time provided for us to break away into groups and discuss our ideas for which aspect/s of this theme we are going to dive into, and we are encouraged to try "new things" when developing our work. We've chosen mentors to guide us along the process and to help us fine-tune our visions. There is also a $750.00 stipend to buffer the cost of materials.

I am diving into my trauma. As some of you know, it's a trauma I've been enslaved to for over six years now. This is a play by play, moment by moment account of my family's exodus out of trauma and abuse. And for me, what better opportunity to not only spread awareness, but also to liberate myself through this cathartic process. Some of my journal and sketchbook work can be found on the blog within the next couple weeks. Stay tuned for details on the OPENING EXHIBIT in April!


Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page